Facebook Icon  Twitter Icon  YouTube Icon instagram.png MORE Icon        ---  NEWS Icon   ---

8th Grade Welcome Night

Who:Welcome Night Logo For Website 01 All 8th Grade Students & Their Parents

When:
Monday, October 28, 2019
Doors Open at 4:00 PM
Event Ends at 8:00 PM

REGISTER HERE

Where:
Fox Valley Lutheran High School 
5300 N Meade Street
Appleton, WI 

Enter through the tower entrance (south side of the building)

What:
Students: You are invited for pizza, soda, inflatables, multi-player video game challenges, DJ and dancing, giant Jenga, dodgeball, and more!

Parents: We have information and activities for you as well! Join us in FVL's academic wing for a variety of 20-minute sessions (listed below) designed to share information and ease the 8th grade to high school transition. Unfortunately, there is not enough time to catch them all, but you will have time to attend up to seven of the sessions. Light refreshments will be available as well. 


 2019 Session Topics

7 Session Times - 10 Session Topics
PLUS Tours (tours will take 2 session times) AND Snacks

All topics will be available during all sessions.

1. Music and Arts

Mr. James Neujahr - jneujahr@fvlhs.org - Band Director
Mr. Dan Vogel - dvogel@fvlhs.org - Choir Director

Hear about FVL's arts classes, including drawing, sculpture, and digital photography. Also, find out about band, choirs, and additional music and arts opportunities for students.

2. How to Choose 9th Grade Classes

Mrs. Laura Gucinski - lgucinski@fvlhs.org - Freshman Guidance Counselor

Learn what classes your future freshman can take in high school, what a daily schedule looks like, and if your student will need a study hall. Graduation requirements are shared and Naviance (used to track volunteer hours and help with college planning) is introduced.

3. Preparing for Life After FVL (College/Career)

Mrs. Amy Gilmet - agilmet@fvlhs.org - Junior/Senior M-Z Guidance Counselor

These four years will speed by faster than you expect, and your child will be facing big decisions about what to do next. Find out how FVL provides college and career planning during the high school years, and learn about various post-secondary college and career options.

4. STEM - Biomedical

Mr. Brian Zunker - bzunker@fvlhs.org - Science Department Coordinator
Mrs. Katelynn Dorn - kdorn@fvlhs.org - Biology & Biomedical Science Instructor

Is the medical field in your child's list of career options? Get a hands-on look at our Biomedical curriculum. Learn about the courses in the program and play the role of a student as you participate in a classrom experiment.

5. After School Opportunities (Cocurriculars)

Mr. Shawn Hill - shill@fvlhs.org - Activities Director

Our Activities Director shares the wide variety of cocurricular options FVL offers and why it is good for freshmen to get involved. He also discusses the role of cocurricular activities play in our overall mission of preparing each child for lives of service now and for eternity.

6. Special Education Overview

Ms. Sara Emmrich - semmrich@fvlhs.org - Guided Studies Director

Does your student have an IEP/ISP/504 Plan or a documented need related to learning? Learn about FVL's Guided Studies/Special Ed Programming and the necessary steps to have your student be a part of this program.

7. WI Parental Choice Program (WPCP) & Tuition Assistance

Mr. Phil Punzel - phil.punzel@922ministries.com - Principal, St. Peter Lutheran School-Freedom

Will your family qualify for free or reduced tuition at FVL? Currently, 45% of FVL students do! Join us to learn about the Wisconsin Parental Choice Program and FVL's Tuition Assistance.

8. Completing Your Enrollment Application

Mrs. Heather Knoll - hknoll@fvlhs.org - Executive Assistant

Computers are available for parents to complete the 2020-21 online enrollment application. Mrs. Heather Knoll is in the room to answer your questions. 

To complete the application, please have...

  • Physician's name & phone number
  • Dentist's name & phone number
  • Health insurance details (insurance company, policy number, phone number, name of the guardian who is the policy holder)
  • Name & phone number of 2 emergency contacts other than parents/guardians
  • Students Social Security number (optional - enter all zeros on the application if you don't want to share the number)

9. Welding

Mr. Mark Krause - mkrause@fvlhs.org - Welding Instructor

Tour the metals shop, see a welding demonstration, and hear about the metals curriculum at FVL. Our program includes a class in metal sculpture as well as courses focused on skills needed for the welding industry.

10. STEM - Engineering & Computer Science

Mr. Nathan Nolte - nnolte@fvlhs.org - STEM Academy Director

FVL offers exciting courses in the STEM Academy that give students opportunities to study in high-demand STEM fields. Learn about the Computer Science and Engineering programs—including a brand-new entry level course: Engineering Essentials.

 


Questions?


 

8GWN Inflatable

 

 

Member of the FVL Schools Educational & Child Care System

More Details